How to position yourself?

Because a solo designer can only do so much

A solo person can only do so much.

Moonlighters face fatigue, freelancers face burnout, solo founders face stress.

But we all want our products to grow, our side-businesses to turn full-time, our niche projects to turn into big ideas.

And winning this race is all about carrying out everything efficiently, without those downsides of working solo getting to you.

How?

By positioning yourself in the correct way.

When who you are and what you do is defined, your product sells itself.

You have to sell less, push less for feedback, and focus on the product alone.

When this realization came to me, what helped me were these 4 pointers:

  • Build drastically better presentation design skills

  • Focus on my communication to sell those improved skills

  • Connect with individuals in my target group with personalized offers

  • Pitch ideas that they would only dream of (dream selling)

Let me explain…

When I talked to people,

Small businesses / startups said:

1) I want to increase my revenue

2) I want to upsell more services to my client

Bigger companies / SaaS products said:

1) I want lesser churn rates

2) I want happier customers and employees

Among the thousands of pitches these people get everyday, I was starting to get a sense of how to stand out.

So I built a basic site on Webflow.

Simple copy, clear process of my work shown, past work also highlighted.

I built a seperate tab to write about who I am and what’s my past experience.

I used the same website copy to my outreach messages also.

Eventually, my copy answered what the market demanded. 

I had the answers to:

1) Why should the customer put his time and money into this?

2) Why should the customer buy from me?

So when I signed new customers, I made deliberate efforts to know them, know their product, their values, and their selling proposition.

The decks I made for them would capture their product’s messaging, style, emotions, typography, language, and offers.

The design would be professional, unique, and clear.

Not surprisingly, the sales decks I made got the clients more calls.

The pitch decks I made were appreciated by investors.

The product launch presentations were able to capture big teams’ interests.

Which quickly led me to selling value-based services.

I started offering services as a solution to problems.

A dejected manager exhausted of dull meetings was happy to pay more to rejuvenate its audience. 

And there I had a sound positioning to my name. In short:

1) My product copy answered the market questions (product market fit)

2) My experience sat well with the kind of firm I ran (founder market fit)

3) I could showcase how I solved real problems for people (social proof)

(And all this took a decade btw…)

Bonus: Why an agency should deny free work?

What happens to the entire investment and efforts put in creating sample solutions for clients?

Is it worth the hassles? Absolutely not!

This free E-book underlines why a request to free work shall have one and only one answer.

Guessed it?

Enjoyed this issue?

If you enjoyed this newsletter, consider subscribing to it. I cover practical tips on adding real value to your design career, early choices you make, your growth path, and a successful transition into design entrepreneurship.

Meanwhile, let’s connect on X.

Have a great week!