Awards in design

Go run for some diet cokes and garlic breads

👋🏼 Hi , this is Aayush with another publication of the Joy Of Creation newsletter, where I write nuggets of practical tips for niche designers. Subscribe to this newsletter to have a fresh take on design, one that accords you big opportunities and good business.

In this issue, we cover:

  • Accolades in design

  • Go run for diet cokes and garlic breads

  • Complete case study of INK PPT 

Accolades in design

Like most people I have had a difficult time getting word out for my presentation design services.

I would go on to directories, cold outreach brand managers, have unsuccessful attempts at having a good SEO website, and try to post everyday on LinkedIn.

By nature, I wasn’t a cautious and predictable designer. I frequently went out of my own thinking to be more courageous and bold with the presentations I made.

But it wasn’t enough for anybody to care. Everyone says they’re unique.

And so I realized the power of accolades and awards. The tangible proof given by a recognized institution that you’ve been really up to something. 

Excited, I searched for all kinds of award nominations in the industry. Afterall, I had been a designer with 3+ years of experience.

To my surprise, no awards existed in the presentation design niche. Furthermore, my money was reimbursed from 3 awards stating our application is invalid. Finally, with no choice at hand, I worked on a 3 step strategy:

1) Continue to deliver good work, let the name spread organically. Slowly build a good portfolio.

2) Develop academic case studies so that we become a part of educational curriculums, spreading the word about this unexplored niche.

3) Give something so good for free, people wonder what will be given under a paid arrangement, and hence I started discovertemplate.com.

Covid year, I again applied for an award. The Most Valuable Professional award by Microsoft. 

Not only was I awarded that, I have now been accredited for it 3 times in a row.

Yup, this is me.

Has it made me more famous than before? Or got me more projects?

Not that I know of.

But I have come so far I don’t care for them anymore. I like working daily with my team on projects that test us everyday and make us learn new things.

Go run for diet cokes and garlic breads

Interns at bigger design firms are often asked to run office errands rather than solving crucial design problems.

The relationship they have with the seniors of the team is amusing too - “Go fetch for us some diet cokes and garlic breads and we’ll let you have a hand in this section”.

Which is an invaluable experience. No sarcasms.

I think internships are precious when you’re young and can afford to not make any money. If running errands is the cost to work on your dream stuff, it’s a win-win deal. In fact, go on to be the go-to person for the stuff you know - managing a party, restaurants booking, handling food orders etc..

The catch however is to be extremely proactive and volunteer for them.

Meanwhile, keep itching the seniors to let you do some design, and bug them until they have no other option (don’t be irritating though). Internships this way can be the perfect start to a rewarding and engaging career.

Complete case study of INK PPT

Read by 3200+ founders and designers, I am sharing with you the complete case study of INK PPT published on Starter Story. How I started this company a decade back with an initial team of 3, and how my inclination to design propelled me to leave a secure, financially stable career, all is covered here. 

Leave your thoughts, I will look at them all :)

Enjoyed this issue?

If you enjoyed this newsletter, consider subscribing to it. I cover practical tips on adding real value to your design work, early choices you make, your growth path, and a successful transition into design entrepreneurship.

Follow me on X.

See you soon,

Have a great day!